We are less than one year away from FIFA World Cup 2014 and the excitments thrills and preparations for the big event started with the FIFA Confederations Cup 2013 in Brazil which the home side won it and now the countdown begins for the ultimate sporting event, the biggest in the world and in terms of prize money it ranks one of the most paying event.

So what is the prize money which will be handed to 32 team participation and how it will be distributed, lets take a closer look at World Cup 2014 finances.

Prize Money Distribution For FIFA World Cup 2014:

Total Prize Money: $576 million (confirmed by FIFA)

Participation Fee$1.5 Million (each 32 Teams)

FIFA Confirmed the Prize Money Details
Participation Fee 32 Team $1.5m each
Group Stage(eliminated Teams) 16 Teams $8m each
Round of 16 (Losers) 8 Teams $9m each
Quarter Finals (Losers) 4 Teams $14m each
4th Place team  1 Team $18m
Third Place Team 1 Team $20m
Runner Up 1 Team $25m
Winners 1 Team $35m
Insurance Money $100m
Fees To clubs whose players play in WC $70m


FIFA World Cup 2014 Prize Money distribution

[ Following table shows the prize money distribution among 32 teams from FIFA World Cup 2010 in South AFrica, where total prize money was $420 million ] So we can expect the small increase on prize money at every stage.

FIFA World Cup 2010 Prize Money Distribution:

Stage TEAM Money
Participation Fee 32 Teams $1 Million Each
Group Stage(eliminated Teams) 16 $8 Million
Round of 16 (Losers) 8 $9 Million
Quarter Finals (Losers) 4 $14 Million
4th Place team  1 $18 million
Third Place Team 1 $20 million
Runner Up 1 $24 million
Winners 1 $30 million


Above is not the confirmed prize money breakdown for the World Cup 2014 in Brazil, above table shows the official prize money for the FIFA World Cup 2010 in South Africa, FIFA has not yet announced the final breakdown of prize money but as soon as they do we will be posting it here.

Leave a Reply